Become a Friend of the Trust
Contact us

Twenty Four Preludes, Op. 84 (1977)

Written in the autumn and winter of 1976, this work is a kind of declaration of belief on the part of Alan Bush. The Preludes expound the six modes and pentatonic scale which together make up the tonal basis of the English national style. These seven scales are presented in some cases diatonically, in others with chromatically altered notes. The keys start with F sharp and proceed by rising fifths, ending with B.

Six only of the Preludes are actually based on English song or dance tunes, the remainder having been freely composed but within the vocabulary of English intervals and on the basis of English intervals and on the basis of English rhythms.

The first performance was given by Alan Bush (piano) at a Concert of Compositions by Alan Bush at the Wigmore Hall, 30 October 1977.

Music Home
Index of Works

Major Works
Wat Tyler
Men of Blackmoor
The Sugar Reapers
Joe Hill - The Man Who Never Died
Orchestral Work
Symphony No. 1 in C
Symphony No. 2 'The Nottingham Symphony'
Symphony No. 3 'The Byron Symphony' with Baritone Solo and Mixed Chorus
Symphony No. 4 - Lascaux Symphony
Dorian Passacaglia and Fugue
Piano Concerto
Violin Concerto
Chamber Music
Dialectic for String Quartet
Concert Piece for Cello and Piano
Lyric Interlude for Violin Solo with Piano Accompaniment
Three Concert Studies for Piano, Violin and Cello
Piano Music
Twenty Four Preludes
Choral Music
'The Winter Journey' - A Christmas Cantata for Soprano and Baritone Solo, Mixed Chorus, String Quintet and Harp
Solo Song
'Voices of the Prophets' - Cantata for Tenor and Piano
'The Freight of Harvest' - Song Cycle for Tenor and Piano
'Life's Span' - Song Cycle for Mezzo-Soprano and Piano
'Woman's Life' - Song cycle for Soprano and Piano